Adams, Buchanan to lead county

The Henry County Board of Supervisors prepares to nominate chairman and vice-chairman to serve in 2020. (From left) County Administrator Tim Hall; Jim Adams, of the Blackberry District; Tommy Slaughter, of the Reed Creek District; Debra Buchanan, of the Horsepasture District; Joe Bryant, of the Collinsville District; Dr. J. David Martin, of the Iriswood District; Ryan Zehr, of the Ridgeway District. (By Brandon Martin)

By Brandon Martin

Jim Adams and Debra Buchanan will lead the Henry County Board of Supervisors in the upcoming year.

Adams, of the Blackberry District, was re-elected chairman; Buchanan, of the Horsepasture District, was re-elected, vice-chairman.

voted on a chairman and vice-chairman for 2020 at an organizational meeting held Jan.2.

Joe Bryant, of the Collinsville District on the Board, made a motion to nominate both to their respective positions.

“I think with the times that we have got coming upon us with the city reversion and other things we are working with…that we have a person that is qualified serving us in that position,” Bryant said after his nomination of Adams to chairman.

Jim Adams (center), was reelected chairman of the Henry County Board of Supervisors. He is flanked by Henry County Administrator Tim Hall (left), and Tommy Slaughter, of the Reed Creek District.

Bryant would reiterate that sentiment upon nominating Buchanan for re-election saying that “our vice-chairman has held the position for several years” and that she “has done an excellent job representing Henry County.”

The nominations passed unanimously. Buchanan abstained from a vote on her own nomination.

Adams thanked the board for their “vote of confidence. It’s not me, it’s you all. You come well prepared to each meeting. You do your research. You listen to your constituents and you serve each are proudly.”

He also thanked staff at the county administrator’s office for “doing an excellent job of giving us background material” which the board uses to make decisions at the monthly meetings.

Buchanan also expressed her gratitude, and noted the credentials of her fellow board members.

“Anyone of you could serve in that position of chairman or vice-chairman and I would vote for anyone of you with confidence. I do appreciate working with every one of you and I look forward to moving Henry County forward,” she said.

Adams previously served as chairman for the past fours. He also held the position in 2008, 2012, and 2013.  He also served as vice chairman for four years in 2003, 2005, 2007, and 2015.

Buchanan has previously served three years as chairman in 2009, 2010, and 2011.  She has previously served as vice-chairman from 2002 to 2006, and 2017 to the present.

Adams has been the Blackberry District representative on the Board since 2002. Buchanan has been the Horsepasture District representative on the Board since 1996.

Following the elections, the supervisors set their regular meeting dates for the year. As in past years, the board selected the fourth Tuesday of each month, with the exception of December, as their meeting date. The final meeting of 2020 will be held Dec. 15 to avoid conflicts with the holiday season. Ryan Zehr, representative of the Ridgeway District made the motion. Tommy Slaughter, of the Reed Creek District, seconded the proposal.

Dr. J David Martin, of the Iriswood District, motioned to approve the 2020 bylaws, with a second provided by Zehr.

The board’s Annual Planning Session will be held on Feb. 4. In past sessions, the board “clearly identified its priorities of economic development, education, public safety and law enforcement,” according to County Administrator Tim Hall.

The board also approved renewing the financing of a shell building in the Patriot Centre.




more recommended stories